As I mentioned in a previous post, I have a inclination toward reading more about writing than actually writing. Blogging is one way to combat this. It forces me to craft sentences for public consumption. That may be good or bad, depending on how these sentences fall on your eyes.
Anyway, One caution that I have read about is that, even when you plan out your writing, be prepared for those ‘wicked turn of events’ that creep up out of nowhere. This happened to me recently.
I am rewriting a story that has been rattling in my brain for years. I thought I knew where it was headed. But, lo and behold, the story surprised me. What is most amazing to me is that, even though I never would have planned it like this, the surprise actually has me sharper. I’m more focused on the plot, the characters, the eventual ending.
Without giving away much, my main character is at a large public gala in a prominent public building in Washington (D.C.). I have her conversing with a few people. Then, I had her excuse herself to the restroom to compose her thoughts after a particular uncomfortable encounter. It was there, as I sat asking myself, “What now?” that the surprise happened. It was not out of character for the plot, in fact, it might actually work better. But it never crossed my mind to let it happen like this. Now, I have a new wrinkle to write through which, as I said, adds a certain focus to my thoughts.
For all of my writing buddies: Has this ever happened to you? Has the story itself ever thrown you a curve ball that made you either leap out of the way or reach across the plate? I’d love to hear about it!
-Mark

7 thoughts on “Unexpected Turns

  1. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I adore your blog and love this post! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

